How to Stop Apps That Automatically Post to Facebook For You

This is for my friends and family how hound me constantly about this annoyance in Facebook. After having the same problem myself over 5 years ago with Facebook — which I ended by no longer using my Facebook account to login to other sites & services; all hail LastPass, all praise to thee — some people enjoy that convenience. However, they they want to change how those apps are allowed to do with their account. On a separate settings page (because OF COURSE there’s one), you can block apps from posting to your wall while allowing them to stay connected to your Facebook profile.

Stop Apps From Posting to Facebook On Your Behalf

Along the drop-down menu on the right of the toolbar on Facebook’s desktop interface, click Settings, then open up the Apps page. From here, you’ll see every application and site you’ve currently linked to your Facebook account (click Show all if you can’t see all of the apps on one page). Now, you can get rid of any of these apps simply by clicking on the small cross icons to the right of each app/site, but if you just want to just change their permissions, keep on reading…

When you click the pencil icon next to each app or website, you’ll notice they are divided in three sections: Visibility of the app (and its posts), Accessible Information (by the app of you info), and What the App Can Do.  While you can edit any and these settings, you’ll be limiting the info provided to that app and some of its functionality may not work like it used to.  But, you WANT to stop all app posting, and if the app requests such a privilege, that ticked  Post entry can simply be un-ticked. However, some permissions might say “required” note next to them, meaning they’re linked to the conditions of having the app connected to your Facebook account in the first place. Don’t worry though, if you don’t want to (or can’t) remove the app’s permission to post, just change the visibility setting at the top to Only Me, that way no one else sees the updates on your Timeline but you, so you’ll won’t annoy your Facebook friends with unnecessary posts and updates. VICTORY!!

Advertisements

So...What Do You Think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s